Women in the Fire Service launch awards

Nominations are now open for the Women in the Fire Service UK Awards 2020. The awards, which began in 2008, now have a brand new format.

Firstly, our new awards have been created because we want to celebrate our 20th training and development event. So there are now specific categories to nominate someone for an award.

Most importantly, we are excited to honour those who have made outstanding contributions to our organisation and the fire and rescue sector.

To sum up, there are seven award categories:

  • Event Champion Award
  • Young Person Role Model Award
  • Woman Firefighter Rising Star Award
  • Men as Allies Award
  • Corporate Star Supporter Award
  • Dany Cotton Inspiring Leader Award
  • Bright Light Award

Find out more about the awards and how to nominate here.

We have a dedicated award panel of eight, including WFS Chair Jules King, Vice-chair, Caroline Anderson, and our Patron, Dany Cotton.

“I’m really looking forward to being on the judging panel. The awards are a great chance to showcase and celebrate the people and services that make a real difference. There’s so much great work going on out there, and I can’t wait to hear all about it.”

— Louise Brown, Committee Member, Women in the Fire Service

The awards ceremony takes place at our National Women in the Fire Service Training and Development Event, at the Fire Service College, 19th-21st June.

Nominations close on 16th March 2020.